Rachael

Books: 
Staff Pick Badge
The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781492657965
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (please call to confirm)
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - September 18th, 2018

Aidan Bishop has been having a bad day. In fact, he's been mysteriously experiencing the same bad day over and over again. But unlike "Groundhog Day," Aidan wakes up in a different body every morning. The only way for him to escape the loop he's stuck in is by solving the murder of Evelyn Hardcastle before it happens at 11 PM. The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is the type of thriller that you'll finish in a day. It's strange, and fun, and the plot twists don't stop coming. Stuart Turton's debut novel will keep you guessing right up until the end


Staff Pick Badge
Hey, Kiddo (National Book Award Finalist) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780545902489
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (please call to confirm)
Published: Graphix - October 9th, 2018

Jarrett Krosoczka's graphic novel memoir, Hey, Kiddo, is a story that will tear your heart into pieces only to put it back together again as it follows Krosoczka's life from the time that his mother, a heroin addict, is incarcerated to the search for his biological father as a teenager. This graphic novel marks his first work for an older crowd.  Hey, Kiddo tackles themes and issues such as neglect and addiction, the latter of which helps to make this a timely and important story.


Staff Pick Badge
Maeve in America: Essays by a Girl from Somewhere Else Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780143130161
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (please call to confirm)
Published: Penguin Books - August 7th, 2018

Until I picked up a copy of Maeve In America, I had never heard of Maeve Higgins.  What I quickly discovered was that she is hilarious, poignant, charming, whip-smart and, on top of all that, a wonderful essayist whose writing ranges from laugh-out-loud funny to engaging and insightful. This book contains a lot of intelligence, compassion, and a biting self-awareness -- all qualities I love in my non-fiction reading.


Staff Pick Badge
Bearskin: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062742797
Availability: Currently Out of Stock - Usually Ships To Store In 1-5 Days
Published: Ecco - June 12th, 2018

Rice Moore is no stranger to trouble. It seems to follow him wherever he goes, including the remote forest preserve for which he is responsible. Someone has been poaching black bears, so Rice sets into motion a plan that could dredge up his violent past. This debut is a taught, unsettling tale of justice and retribution, and it's perfect for fans of Longmire or Elmore Leonard. 


Staff Pick Badge
The Oracle Year: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062686640
Availability: Coming Soon - AVAILABLE FOR PRE-ORDER NOW!
Published: Harper Perennial - April 30th, 2019

Every good nerd knows that with great power comes great responsibilities.  And lots of enemies!  Will Dando wakes up one morning with over a hundred predictions of the future in his head, some seem insignificant, others have the 'powers that be' scrambling to find him. Told through alternating voices and interweaving narration, this is fun, action-packed, and a surprisingly touching look at  human nature.


Staff Pick Badge
The Mad Wolf's Daughter Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780735229280
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (please call to confirm)
Published: Puffin Books - February 12th, 2019

This one is full of adventure, danger at every turn, thieves, knights, and of course, magic. When Drest's father, the legendary Mad Wolf himself, and his fearsome warband are captured by invading knights, Drest is left utterly alone for the first time in her life. Armed with her wit, a sword much too big for a twelve year old girl, and her stalwart determination, Drest sets forth on a wild and dangerous rescue attempt to save her family before it's too late.


Staff Pick Badge
Ghosts Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9780545540629
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (please call to confirm)
Published: Graphix - September 13th, 2016

Raina Telgemeier has written and illustrated a beautiful and powerful coming-of-age story. Catrina and her family are moving to the foggy coast of Northern California because her sister, Maya, has cystic fibrosis. Moving is tough, but she understands that the cold, clean air is what's best for her sister. When a new neighbor tells the girls about the ghosts of Bahía de la Luna, Maya becomes determined to meet one. Readers who loved Wonder won't be able to put Ghosts down, and might find themselves wiping away a tear or two at the end.


The Girl from Everywhere Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062380760
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (please call to confirm)
Published: Greenwillow Books - February 7th, 2017

Heidi Heilig does a brilliant job of weaving myth with history as she tells the story of Nixie Song, a young woman living aboard the pirate ship Temptation with her charming, opiate addicted father and his ragtag crew - a former monk, a warrior woman and her ghost-wife, and a Persian thief, wise beyond his years, plucked from the world of One Thousand and One Nights. Together they navigate the ship, sailing from modern day New York, to the distant shores of Hawaii during the nineteenth century, to lands that exist only in fairy tales. With Heilig's fluid prose and clever dialogue, I felt as though I had been transported through time.


Staff Pick Badge
Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780553499148
Availability: On Our Shelves Now (please call to confirm)
Published: Ember - April 25th, 2017

Told through a series of redacted documents, interviews, IMs, schematics, military reports, and surveillance reports, Illuminae starts with a bang (literally) and never slows down.